Profile of a future criminal

This post has been brewing for a long time in my mind. Some of you will think I’m coming across too strong with a “pet” topic. It may be I’m too opinionated. That was always a “gift” of mine! 🙂 But I feel like this is God’s message too…

I found out last week that B’s two brothers were being moved…again. Imagine being ten or five years old and in the past two years, you have been moved nine times. That means that they have been in at least three school districts (maybe more), had multiple and varied behavioral expectations laid on them, and experienced very little stability. They need someone who will love and discipline them to healing.

When I lay down to sleep that night, I couldn’t help but cry. What will happen to these little souls? K especially is angry, he is hurting, he needs lots of time, he needs boundaries to make him feel secure, he needs a family able to teach him about a Heavenly Father who loves him more than anything in the world! Will this happen? Will he find out about this Father before his heart is hardened? Will he make the choice to hold a gun, pull the trigger, and end up behind bars? Will his anger turn to forgiveness or hate? Will he become a teenage dad, a gang member, an abuser, a molester, a criminal? Or will he become a pastor, a missionary, a loving father, a faithful husband? He is only one child, in one agency, in one county, in one state, in one country, in this vast world! The need is unfathomable. And then I had a surge of righteous indignation! Were is the Church? Should we not be willing to open our hearts and homes to more of these wounded children?

Now before the devil starts to whisper excuses in your ears, hear me out. I know there are many of you who are raising a young biological family. Perhaps you aIready have your ministry. To be perfectly honest, had we had our way, we would be the parents of bio children and maybe our eyes would still be closed to the vast need of the foster care system. Now that I see this need, I wonder why more of God’s children don’t get involved.

“The least of these.” “A cup of cold water.” “Suffer the little children…for of such is the kingdom of heaven.” We’ve all heard these words with our ears…have we heard them with our hearts? If we turn a blind eye to all this, are we offending these little ones? Jesus said that drowning in a sea with a millstone around our necks would be better than that. Why are we so willing to spend time and money on things that WILL NOT LAST when there is a bottomless ocean of little people who need what we have?

Do I think that everyone reading this should be foster or adoptive parents? Not necessarily. (I have a huge amount of respect for families who choose this ministry even though they are able to have children biologically. There’s something about that that seems more sacrificial than we who are doing it as a means to have a family.) I do, however, think that we need to examine our lives carefully. Am I doing anything sacrificial for Jesus right now? I’m reading Kisses from Katie right now. I was near tears in the introduction already. And I found my heart beating with this statement about places of adventure Christianity should take us…”It is so simple. Don’t misunderstand; it is not easy. But it is simple in that each and every one of us was ultimately created to do the same thing. It will not look the same. It may take place in a foreign land or it may take place in your backyard, but I believe that we were each created to change the world for someone. To serve someone. To love someone the way Christ first loved us, to spread His light. This is the dream, and it is possible. Some days it is excruciatingly difficult, but the blessings far outweigh the hardships.”

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose.” Jim Elliot

9 thoughts on “Profile of a future criminal

  1. I hear your hearts cry.. It isn’t an easy road but has lots of blessings.. Praying that someone will find it in their hearts to fill this need in these little boys lives..

    • Anna, I guess I look at it like this…I know the system is broken. I’ve seen it time and time again. But these children will be in care whether I’m a foster mom or not. The court system doesn’t handle everything (okay probably most things) the way I think they should. That doesn’t change the fact that children are hurting, abused, neglected, and longing for a place to belong. If we can offer what they need – shouldn’t we?

  2. I don’t know you; but I understand the sorrow you feel. It’s so easy to look at the huge need and give up; feeling as if I am too insignificant to make a difference ~ until I actually KNOW a little person and suddenly it becomes personal and I find something CAN be done! We can’t individually change the WORLD but what if we would EACH find a way to make a difference for one or two?! Thank you for sharing your heart.

  3. YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Thanks for writing this; I am cheering you on!
    God has put a burden for abused children on my heart. While we were doing foster care we went to an “If You Were Mine” workshop by Family Life. After spelling out the dire NEED for people to care for all the orphans around the world, the speaker asked, “What if the church would *be known for* caring for the cripple, the broken one, the rejected one? What if when there is a special needs child someone says, ‘Oh, I know a Christian. I know they’ll give him a home.” It made a huge impression on me. We selfishly want the bright one, the cutest one, the athletic, the whole….but look at who Jesus ministered to. We’re not in a place to do fostering right now, but it’s a dream of ours for the future.

  4. Me again…can’t get this topic off my mind…While God has seemed to answer our journey with all of this with a closed door, I want to say to whoever reads this….no, we are not all called to adopt or foster, but please let’s support those who do. There seems to be so much trepidation, confusion etc. towards this whole arena because of the “bad stories”, that some of those who have answered the call feel alone when they hit the hard stuff. They need support, involvement, and encouragement. I would also highly recommend a book entitled “Small Town, Big Miracle.” Here the foster children did not feel different, because there were so many of them….they belonged. Is that one of our missing keys? My thoughts…..

Leave a Reply

